Charter 2015

Rotary Club of Church Wilne 30th Anniversary Charter evening

On Saturday 16th May the Rotary Club of Church Wilne celebrated its 30th Anniversary Charter night at Trent Lock Golf and Country Club and President Geoff Smith welcomed the guests and members to this special evening.

Following a most enjoyable four course meal Secretary Mick White did the roll call of visiting clubs and the JVP Simon Beal proposed the toast to Rotary International. Past District Governor David Ashley responded and spoke about the recent successes of the Club which included the annual Christmas float and the Charity Horse ride each September.

President Geoff Smith spoke about the many highlights over the past 10 months of this Rotary year and continued by saying it is my privilege and pleasure to make Paul Harris Fellowship Awards to several of Club members.  Every Club can honour a Rotarian for exceptional services to Rotary by the awarding of the Paul Harris Fellowship, established in memory of the founder of Rotary International, Paul Harris.

Brian Stokes was the first to be awarded and he has played a leading role since joining as a member just 8 years ago with the re-designing and re-building of the Christmas Float. Not content with his role as Architect-in-Chief, Brian, with his wife Joyce, take charge of the many routes, they turn up on every occasion when the Float is used, acting as driver, collector, tabard distributor and cleaner, and they have principal responsibility relating to the cash collection and control of the tins.

Then followed awards to several Founder members all of whom have contributed greatly to the undoubted success of the club since 1985

Peter Woods who was the President 14 years ago and has been the Club Webmaster for many years and it is entirely due to his efforts that for several years we have won the District Award for the best Website.  Peter for the past 10 years has also been an active member of the Melkbos Rotary Club in Cape Town and has facilitated a joint Service Project between his 3 Clubs in true Rotary spirit.

Ken Watson was the Club President 23 years ago and whilst the oldest Club member, is still one of the fittest and certainly still the best golfer having won many District Golf Competitions in the 1980's and 1990's. He has also been involved with the Life Education Project and has consistently been a strong supporter and helper for the many Rotary projects undertaken over the past 30 years.

Barry Austin became the youngest President of the Club at the age of 43 and 2 months in July 1987 and is a completely committed Rotarian. Like Ken, Barry is a keen golfer and he generously donated the Barry Austin Golf Trophy over 20 years ago.  Barry spends 6 months of each year in New Zealand and Australia where his 2 daughters and their families live and he continues his commitment to Rotary in his adopted New Zealand Club of Tauranga Te Pepe.

 A very special Paul Harris Sapphire award was made to Founder President Roger Graham, who has held several club offices and has been instrumental over the past 30 years in successfully organising many club projects and activities.

For more information on Rotary and our speaker evenings, please contact Rotarian John Astell at:

For more information on the Rotary Club of Church Wilne visit the web site:

Ray Terry

Charter Night


Recent Events